Doubleday Megan ForWeb

Jackson, MS – Fifty-one community college students from the United States, Canada, and American Samoa have been named 2014 New Century Scholars – receiving a total of $100,000 in scholarships. Megan Doubleday, Southwestern Community College (SWCC) sophomore from Mt. Ayr, is among the nationwide honorees.  The New Century Scholars Program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Doubleday, who will graduate from SWCC with her associate of arts degree in May 2014, plans to attend Iowa State University in the fall.  She will major in elementary education with an endorsement in math.  While a student at SWCC, she has been active in Student Senate (president), Dazzlers dance team (co-captain), student ambassadors, Phi Theta Kappa (vice president of fellowship), work-study, and tutoring.  Doubleday is a May 2012 Mt. Ayr High School graduate.


“We are pleased Megan was selected for this honor,” stated Dr. Barb Crittenden, SWCC president.  “She is an excellent student and has been involved in a number of activities on campus.  Megan is well-deserving of this recognition.  We are happy she chose to begin her college education at Southwestern.”

The New Century Scholars program and All-USA Community College Academic Team, which is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group and presented by USA TODAY and Phi Theta Kappa, share a common application and together recognize outstanding community college students. More than 1,700 students were nominated from more than 900 community colleges for recognition. Judges consider grades, leadership, activities and most importantly, how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.

New Century Scholars are the highest scoring students in each state, plus one student from Canada and one additional student chosen from among one of the remaining seven sovereign nations where Phi Theta Kappa is represented internationally. Each scholar will receive a $2,000 scholarship and be presented at the American Association of College Presidents (AACC) Convention in Washington, D.C.

“We appreciate the support of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and The Coca-Cola Foundation to recognize the outstanding academic achievement and leadership accomplishments of these outstanding community college students,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s executive director, Dr. Rod Risley. “These scholarships provided by organizations like Coca-Cola make the goal of college completion possible – especially during these challenging economic times.”

The 2014 New Century Scholars are:
Alabama - Vicente Cortez, Enterprise State Community College
Alaska - Tiffiny San Andres, Ilisagvik College
American Samoa - Witt Mariner, American Samoa Community College
Arizona - Jennifer Brady, Mohave Community College
Arkansas - Patricia Esperon, Arkansas State University Mountain Home
California - Sarah Farmer, San Diego Mesa College
Canada - Stefan Florchuk, Medicine Hat College
Colorado - Andrea Seipel, Front Range Community College
Connecticut - Serena Giacomin, Gateway Community College
Delaware - Michael Griner, Delaware Technical Community College
District of Columbia - Izuchukwu Abel, Community College of the District of Columbia
Florida - Kayla Duchaine, Eastern Florida State College
Georgia - Brooks Mitchell, Darton State College
Hawaii - Edward Bufil,  Hawaii Community College
Idaho - Belinda Reyff, College of Western Idaho
Illinois - Julie Crafton, Heartland Community College
Indiana - Jessica Troxel, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
Iowa - Megan Doubleday, Southwestern Community College
Kansas - William Mims, Dodge City Community College
Kentucky - Courtney Carpenter, Somerset Community College
Louisiana - Stephanie Rogers, Delgado Community College
Maine - Jason Glynn, Southern Maine Community College
Maryland - Hannah Patarini, Howard Community College
Massachusetts - Heather Hilton, Massasoit Community College
Michigan - Eric Howard, Muskegon Community College
Minnesota - Abigail Harding, Vermilion Community College
Mississippi - Zachary Warren, Jones County Junior College
Missouri - Shannon Kreutzer, Cottey College
Montana - Jackcee Idland, Miles Community College
Nebraska - Xavier Shiu, Metropolitan Community College
Nevada - Honey Tapley, Western Nevada College
New Hampshire - Jane Quigley, NHTI-Concord’s Community College
New Jersey - Sofia Medina, Essex County College
New Mexico - Robert Gonzales, Eastern New Mexico University-Ruidoso
New York - Laura DeNardo, Jefferson Community College
North Carolina - Joseph Burch, Central Piedmont Community College
North Dakota - Jayme Pischel, Bismarck State College
Ohio - Maksym Gerasimov, Sinclair Community College
Oklahoma - Kelsey Williams, Northeastern Oklahoma A & M College
Oregon - Sule Whitlock, Mt. Hood Community College
Pennsylvania - Caitlin Brown, Lehigh Carbon Community College
Rhode Island - Anthony Pierno, Community College of Rhode Island
South Carolina - Gabriela Trejo, Florence-Darlington Technical College
Tennessee - Olivia Orten, Northeast Community College
Texas - Michelle Davis, Collin College
Vermont - James Stockwell, Landmark College
Virginia - Amanda Harbison, Northern Virginia Community College
Washington - Nicklaus Madison, Renton Technical College
West Virginia - Lorraine Klover, Mountwest Community & Technical College
Wisconsin - Makiko Omori, Madison Area Technical College
Wyoming - Caitlin Heryford, Central Wyoming College

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly three million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.