College News

Published February 13, 2012 9:17 am

miner jamee IMG 4056

After falling to DMACC by 21 points a month ago, the Southwestern women’s basketball team traveled to Boone to see if they could keep the game closer in round two. Unfortunately, early turnovers proved costly as the Spartans fell down by 19 in the first half before ultimately losing by that margin, with a final score of 68-49. Southwestern was forced into 15 first half turnovers, in large part because of their inability to pass out of traps. DMACC pressed the Spartans much of the first 20 minutes, trapping the Spartans anytime the ball fell against the sideline or baseline. Coach Brett Gilcrist commented, “I told the team at halftime that although we were down almost 20, we actually played well in the first half. When we got the ball into the half-court, we did a good job of running our offense. Our goal coming out of halftime was to cut into the lead by taking better care of the ball and handling their pressure.”

Read more ...

Published February 13, 2012 8:51 am

swcc vs dmacc IMG 0094

Playing their most consistent basketball of the season, Southwestern hoped to go on the road Saturday and upset nationally-ranked DMACC.  For 36 minutes of game action, it looked possible.  With just less than four minutes to play, the score was tied 51-51.  The Bears took advantage of a foul on the next possession to go up 53-51.  The Spartans tried to answer, but a 15-footer by Delby Halcomb fell off the iron, and DMACC was able to convert again.  Forced into faster tempo, Southwestern could not bridge the gap and was forced to foul.  The Bears converted on their way to a 64-54 win. 

Read more ...

Published February 9, 2012 2:17 pm


Southwestern Community College Head Volleyball Coach Melissa Blessington was on the road again last week recruiting for the Spartans 2012 volleyball roster.

Morgan Roecker, a senior at AR-WE-VA High School in Westside, signed with the Spartans. Blessington is excited about the athleticism Roecker will bring to the team. “Morgan has great court awareness and knows how to terminate the ball,” Blessington stated.  “She will be a great offensive weapon for us because she can hit out of the middle and also out of the outside.” 

Read more ...

Published February 9, 2012 1:29 pm

swcc vs niacc MG 6309

Last night, the SWCC Spartans faced North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC) in a home court match-up.  The Spartans started off the game with a quick and steady lead. Midway through the first half, keeping the game fast paced and up tempo, they extended their lead to 14-4. The Spartans finished the first half with a solid 18-point lead, 48-30.

Only five minutes into the second half, NIACC had made a strong and fast comeback, out-scoring the Spartans 15 to 8. NIACC continued to work their way back slowly, but the Spartans regained their momentum and managed to keep a 10 point lead throughout the remainder of the second half. NIACC continued to keep the tempo up in an effort to make their comeback stick. Their numerous fouls, however, helped the Spartans keep their lead out of reach. The Spartans won with a final score of 90-77.

The Spartans next game will be this Saturday, February 11, against DMACC in Boone at 3 p.m. 

Published February 9, 2012 1:15 pm

swcc vs niacc MG 6181

During last night's game vs. North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC), the Spartans started off the game with a back and forth battle.  The girls went into halftime with a score of 24-29, NIACC. The second half looked much like the first, with both teams keeping it close. With five minutes left on the clock, the Spartan women were up by six, 54-49. The Spartans managed to keep a strong five point buffer between them and NIACC for the rest of the game. The final score was 67-57, Spartans win.

Assistant Coach Amanda Dahlseng said, "The girls were pumped up all day and ready for tonight's game. The last game didn’t go the way the girls wanted it, and they were ready for a win tonight. Even though at the start we were down 9-2, we didn’t give up and we just pushed forward. This was a win that every person on the team helped contribute to."

The Spartans next game will be this Saturday, February 11, against DMACC in Boone at 1 pm. 

Published February 7, 2012 9:01 am

Kastrup Devin IMG 4012

In a place that has been a house of horrors for Spartan men’s basketball in the past, the 2011-12 version battled all the way to the end with the fourth ranked team in the nation, eventually dropping a 76-65 decision. Southwestern attempted to control the pace early, and at the mid-way mark of the first half a Spartan back-cut to Marquealis Edwards brought Southwestern to within 2 at 16-14. Kirkwood asserted control by the end of the half, however, and got perimeter shooters open in transition to jump to a 36-19 halftime advantage. Southwestern was not down and out, however, and rallied in the second half, battling to claw closer behind some timely three-point shots from Marcus Littleton and Devin Kastrup (pictured).

Read more ...

Published February 7, 2012 7:56 am

After the two teams met to open the conference, Southwestern Community College traveled to Cedar Rapids last night in attempt to pay the Eagles back for huge loss on their home floor. Unfortunately, the Spartans failed in their efforts, falling 102-39 to the nationally-ranked Kirkwood Eagles. The Eagles jumped out to a quick 10-0 lead and never looked back from there! With sharp shooting from outside and a bevy of post players, Kirkwood left the Southwestern women scrambling all over the floor. To make matters worse, KCC dominated the glass in holding the Spartans to a season-low 13 rebounds while forcing 23 turnovers.

Read more ...

Published February 6, 2012 10:04 am


FEBRUARY 3, 2012, Creston, IA—Southwestern Community College (SWCC) has announced Tim Sandquist will succeed Ryan McKim as the head coach for the Spartans’ golf team.  McKim is leaving Southwestern for a position on the football coaching staff at Iowa State University.

An Omaha native, Sandquist is not a new name to Southwestern athletics.  He has served as assistant men’s basketball coach under SWCC Head Coach Mike Holmes since August 2011.  He also serves as an adjunct instructor, teaching classes in physical education, as well as The College Experience classes.  

Read more ...

Published February 6, 2012 8:44 am

Graves Kyle IMG 4006

Needing a non-conference road win Sunday, Southwestern roared out of the gates offensively and never looked back on their way to a 86-67 win over host William Penn.  The Statesmen kept things close in the first half, connecting on several three-point goals to keep the margin at 46-41 by half.  The Spartan offense kept churning along, sparked by a solid bench performance by Kyle Graves.  In addition to Graves and his scoring boost, Southwestern put all five starters in double figures. 

Southwestern next plays conference foe Kirkwood in Cedar Rapids Saturday.  Tipoff is 3 p.m.

Published February 2, 2012 1:06 pm

Strong SWCCsoftballRecruit

Southwestern Community College Head Softball Coach Lindsay Stumpff announced today Ashley Strong of Vinton will be joining the Spartans softball program during the 2012-13 school year.

Strong, who will be a May 2012 graduate from Vinton-Shellsburg High School, will play volleyball for the Spartans as well. Throughout Strong’s high school career, she received a number of athletic honors, including being named honorable mention all-conference for softball in 2010; as well as second team all-conference, all-district, and honorable mention all-state in 2011. In her free time, she works with elementary students and assists with events at her church.

Read more ...