College News

Published: Thursday, April 2, 2009 10:20 am

Southwestern Community College and Northwest Missouri State University Sign Joint Enrollment Agreement

SWCC and Northwest Missouri State Sign Partnership Agreement

CRESTON —Southwestern Community College (SWCC) President Dr. Barb Crittenden and Northwest Missouri State University (NWMSU) Provost Dr. Kichoon Yang met to sign an articulation and joint enrollment agreement on March 31, 2009, at Southwestern.  This agreement will create significant new academic opportunities for Southwestern grads seeking to earn a bachelor’s degree.

Read more: SWCC and Northwest Sign Joint Enrollment Agreement

Published: Thursday, April 2, 2009 9:49 am

Jones Wins Statewide Award for Excellence in Online Instruction

Marsha Jones Wins Statewide AwardMarsha Jones, Southwestern Community College online biology/anatomy instructor, was awarded the e11 Excellence in Online Instruction Award at the 2009 Iowa Community College Online Consortium (ICCOC) Spring Conference in West Des Moines on Monday, March 30.

Read more: Jones Wins Statewide Award

Published: Wednesday, April 1, 2009 11:26 am

Southwestern Announces Welding Contest Winners

Welding Contest WinnersCRESTON—Students from seven high schools were on Southwestern Community College’s campus Friday, March 27, 2009, to compete in the college’s 2009 High School Collision/Welding Contest.  Justin Willcox, a junior from Clarke High School in Osceola placed first in the individual welding contest.  Second place went to Ryan Gibson, a junior from Creston and third place was awarded to Brandon Hildreth, a sophomore from Clarke.

Read more: Southwestern Announces Welding Contest Winners

Published: Monday, March 30, 2009 5:21 am
Southwestern Students Place at National Ag Competition

Read more: SWCC Students Place at National Ag Competition

Published: Friday, March 27, 2009 12:39 pm
SWCC Students Named to 2009 All-Iowa Academic Team

Read more: SWCC Students Honored on 2009 All-Iowa Academic Team

Published: Friday, March 6, 2009 8:52 am

SWCC Students Headed to National PAS Competition

SWCC PAS OfficersCRESTON--Two Southwestern Community College (SWCC) students will be competing at the National Postsecondary Agricultural Student Organization (PAS) conference in Hershey, PA, from March 11-14.  They earned the right to compete nationally by placing first in their respective competitions during Iowa's PAS conference, which was held at DMACC in Ankeny in early-February.

Read more: SWCC Students Headed to National PAS Competition

Published: Friday, February 27, 2009 8:45 am

The competition will be open to all SWCC students and surrounding High School students. Each team will be composed of four players. Once we have all the teams signed up we will form a bracket. You will be given a certain time to show up and then hopefully begin your way to the championship. The top two college teams will be given the opportunity to represent SWCC at the Iowa Community College Halo3 tournament, which we will be hosting later in the spring. We will be looking for the best players so form your teams soon!

Time: TBA

Date: March, 27 2009

Cost: $40 per team

Signup you team here! 

Published: Friday, February 27, 2009 8:25 am

2009 Cyber Defense Students CompetitingCRESTON--A team of students from Southwestern Community College's computer club placed 12th nationally at the 2009 National Cyber Defense Competition held February 20-21 in Ames.  This was the second consecutive year SWCC students have participated in the event.  During the 2008 competition, the SWCC team placed 25th.

Read more: SWCC Networking Students Place in National Contest

Published: Wednesday, February 25, 2009 10:57 am
Name Position High School
Nate Clark SS Hoover High School, Des Moines
Montana Kiler RHP Mill Valley High School, Kansas City
Chris Fluharty LHP Marshall University, Huntington, WV
Jake Deffenbaugh INF Martensdale St Mary’s HS
Andy Kollbaum C Sgt Bluff Luton HS
Tyler Woolums RHP Chariton HS
Craig Chentfant RHP Sgt Bluff Luton HS
Nick Ferin C Martensdale St Mary’s HS
Quin Gooch OF Hoover High School, Des Moines
Ryan Harmsen RHP Clarke HS, Osceola
2009-10 Spartan Commitments
Name Position High School Home
Cal Dannenberg RHP Lincoln HS Sioux Falls, SD
Dillan Brady C/Util Lee’s Summitt West Lee’s Summitt, MO
Kenny Namanny LHP/OF Denison HS Schleswig, IA
Tyler Wertenberger IF/RHP Lee’s Summitt West Lee’s Summitt, MO
Ben Anderson IF Central Decatur Leon, IA
Dustin Guihan OF/LHP West Burlington Burlington, IA
Mike Wild IF Bellevue East Bellevue, NE
Jake Daniels IF I-35 High School Truro, IA
Cameron Rieks RHP Southeast Polk  Altoona, IA
Joey Mazzie RHP Dowling Catholic West Des Moines, IA
Tyler Gustafson RHP Burlington HS Burlington, IA
Brock Anderson IF Burlington HS Burlington, IA
Douglas Burwinkle UT/RHP Bettendorf HS Bettendorf, IA
Montana Deppe RHP Andrew HS Makoqueta, IA
Daniel Worb IF/RHP Vauxhall Academy Vauxhall, Alberta
Chris Dunn LHP/OF Tri-County HS Hancock, IA
Chris Nichols OF/RHP Rivercrest HS Bogata, TX
Ben George LHP Bondurant-Farrar Bondurant, IA
Nathan Sawatzky IF/RHP Bondurant-Farrar Bondurant, IA
Caleb Cline IF Southeast Polk Altoona, IA
CJ Schreiber RHP/IF Southeast Polk Altoona, IA
Published: Friday, February 20, 2009 3:32 am

SWCC Group with legislatorsA group of Southwestern Community College students, accompanied by SWCC student services staff members, traveled to Des Moines to the State Capitol on February 19, 2009.

Throughout the morning, the group met with state legislators, toured the Capitol, and sat in on the Joint Education Appropriations Sub-Committee meeting. 

Group members got to meet with Representative Clel Baudler (R-House District 58) from Greenfield, Representative Cecil Dolecheck (R-House District 96) from Mt. Ayr, Representative Mike Reasoner (D-House District 95) from Creston, and Senator Kim Reynolds (R-Senate District 48) from Osceola.

House photo, above (L to R): Lisa Carstens, Doug Greene, Erica Frey, Laurie Besco, Meghan Cavanaugh, Student Carla Willis, Student Caitlyn Lesan, Lindsay Stumpff, Student Jess Borton, Student Barb Curry, Deb Pantini, Representative Mike Reasoner, Student Mary Puderbaugh, Student Jamahl DePriest, Student Nikkie Vreeland, Representative Cecil Dolecheck, Sandy Webb, Student Tiffany Coon, Sarah Smith, Marilyn Werner, Jane Bradley, Pat Butcher, Matt Thompson, Terri Higgins, Mindy Oswald, and Stacy Gibbs

SWCC group with Kim ReynoldsSenate photo, at left (L to R):  Pat Butcher, Stacy Gibbs, Mindy Oswald, Student Tiffany Coon, Deb Pantini, Student Caitlyn Lesan, Terri Higgins, Marilyn Werner, Student Mary Puderbaugh, Erica Frey, Lindsay Stumpff, Student Carla Willis, Student Jess Borton, Meghan Cavanaugh, Lisa Carstens, Student Jamahl DePriest, Student Nikkie Vreeland, Student Barb Curry, Sandy Webb, Sarah Smith, Doug Greene, Senator Kim Reynolds, Jane Bradley, and Laurie Besco.