AutoSkills Winners ForWebSouthwestern Community College (SWCC) students Wyatt Hensley of Orient and Waylan Sorensen of Greenfield placed fifth overall in the 2013 Iowa Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills Competition on Tues., May 7, 2013, at Des Moines Area Community College in Ankeny.  This competition recognizes some of the best high school auto technicians in the state.

Read more ...

WeldingContest 2013CRESTON—April 19, 2013—Almost 450 high school students were on Southwestern Community College's campus on Friday, April 5, 2013, for Career and Technical Education (CTE) Day and the 2013 SWCC Automotive Open House.  This annual open house offers future students the opportunity to tour the shops, meet the instructors, and learn more about SWCC’s automotive repair technology and collision repair/refinish programs.

As a part of the event, many of the visiting students, as well as current SWCC automotive students, compete in contests and activities.  Placings for the contests follow:

High School Collision/Welding Contest Winners

  • Jacob Berkley, Red Oak High School, first place
  • Colton Drake, Villisca High School, second place
  • Remington Tranburger, Red Oak High School, third place

TireChangingWinners 2013Tire Changing Contest - High School Division

  • Russell Sinclair, Central Decatur High School, tie for first place
  • Corey Sunderman, Atlantic High School, tie for first place
  • Heath Heller, Atlantic High School, second place

Tire Changing Contest - College Division

  • Kadin Miller, Osceola, Southwestern Community College, first place
  • Alonzo Rodriguez, Osceola, Southwestern Community College, second place

Photos from the events are available on SWCC’s Facebook page at

Southwestern Community College's automotive programs will be hosting the 2013 Automotive Open House for students considering a career in the automotive field on Friday, April 5, 2013, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., in the automotive department on the north side of the Instructional Center, on SWCC's Creston campus.

During the Auto Open House, visitors will tour the automotive shops, meet with program instructors, compete in welding and tire changing/rotating contests, views automobiles at a car show, and meet with tool vendors.  The Patriot Chopper from Orange County Choppers will be on display during the car show.  A light lunch will be served.  

Potential students and their families may visit at any time during the Open House, but if students are planning to compete in the welding contest they must register from 8:30-9 a.m.  A written test will take place at 9 a.m. and individuals with the top scores will then compete in the hands-on portion of the contest at 10 a.m. in SWCC’s Tech Center I.  The car show is open to the public.

SWCC offers two esteemed programs in the automotive areas:  automotive repair technology and collision repair/refinish.  SWCC's automotive repair technology instructors are Master ASE (Automotive Service Excellence)-certified and use a hands-on approach in the classroom and lab.  The automotive repair technology program has ASE certification and National Automotive Technician Education Foundation (NATEF) certification. SWCC's collision repair program is the only program in Iowa to have the I-CAR (Inter-Industry Conference on Auto Collision Repair) Gold Class designation and is one of two programs in Iowa to have the ASE/NATEF certification. 

auto raffle IMG 1274The Automotive Club raised a total of $1,456 for the automotive club through their raffle drawings held at the end of fall 2012 semester. The club will use this money for a scholarship, a field trip to the Kansas City Harley Davidson factory and Topeka Drag Races, and the Skills USA competition, as well as a donation to a needy cause undetermined at this time.

There were 37 students selling tickets and 10 students each sold more than 50 tickets. The top salesman was Colton Nelson, who sold 341 tickets and received a donation from Charlie Brown Auto Salvage for $100. Nelson is a second year automotive student from Osceola.

Congratulations to the automotive club raffle winners:
1st place - Justin Brown
2nd place - Denny Loudon
3rd place - Karl Olson
4th place - Gary Davis
5th place - Salvador Aguilera
6th place - Mary Adams