New PTK Members

Beta Eta Nu, Southwestern Community College's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, held its Fall 2016 Induction at 3 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 16, 2016, in the Allied Health & Science Center auditorium. 

The keynote speaker for the induction was Kelly Franklin, SWCC English instructor, and closing remarks were made by Tom Hol, Beta Eta Nu past-president and current SW Iowa regional vice president.  Family and friends were there to support the new members.

New members in attendance included (photo above, pictured left to right):
Front Row - Ashley Porsch, Sydney Suiter, and Makayla Boothe
Back Row - Harleigh Bristow, Alexandra Young, Peter Sorensen, Jorand Feazell, and Shaily Patterson

Beta Eta Nu officers in attendance included (photo below, pictured left to right):
Front - Valerie Whistler, president; Selena Sampson, recorder; and Tiffany Larson, vice president of leadership
Back - Tom Hol, past-president and regional vice president, and Ellen Pool, vice president of scholarship

Other officers include Blythe Beck, vice president of service, and Gabe Esser, vice president of fellowship.

Phi Theta Kappa is a by-invitation honor society for two year colleges. To receive an invitation, a student must have completed 12 credit hours at SWCC and earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5.  Current activities for the SWCC chapter are planning a C4 signing event during SWCC Week, working on an Honors in Action project (research question is "Why has Iowa dropped in rankings for providing services to individuals who need mental health care?"), and a fundraiser (selling Hy-Vee coupon books).  A fun night is in the planning as well.

For additional photos from the induction, please visit the SWCC page on Facebook.

PTKOfficers Fall16