SWCClogo WorkplaceLearningNetworkSouthwestern’s Workplace Learning Network, a member of the Iowa Intermediary Network, provides work-based learning activities to Region 14 School Districts through appropriated Iowa Legislative funds.  The Network prepares students for the workforce by connecting business and education, offering relevant exploration to develop educational and vocational goals. A particular focus is given to science, technology, engineering, and mathematical occupations, occupations related to critical infrastructure and commercial and residential construction, or the targeted industries of advanced manufacturing, biosciences, and information technology.

How We Assist Students:
The Workplace Learning Network will assist students in locating job shadows, arranging workplace tours, and providing work skill information pertaining to their specific interests and needs.

How We Assist Teachers & Administrators:
The Workplace Learning Network will assist teachers and administrators in planning and funding workplace tours for a specific class or group of students. Business tours provide early exposure and visibility of student interest while supporting classroom instruction. Teachers are also encouraged to apply for the Network’s paid Externship Program. Explore our school requests page for further details!

Contact Us:

Ann Schlapia
Workplace Learning Network Coordinator
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Southwestern Community College's Workplace Learning Network is a member of the Iowa Intermediary Network.  For additional information, please visit https://www.educateiowa.gov/work-based-learning