Southwestern Community College (SWCC) hosted its fall induction for the Beta Eta Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019, at 5:30 p.m., in the Instructional Center, room 180.

The guest speaker for the event was Diogenes Ayala of Winterset, SWCC criminal justice instructor. Beta Eta Nu chapter officers for 2019-20 include Ella Rutherford of Niantic, Illinois, president; Chase Miner of Leon, vice president of leadership; Royce Bernard of Creston, vice president of scholarship; and Sadie Green of Creston, vice president of service.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees for the fall 2019 semester (as of Oct. 22, 2019) include Casey Allen of Afton; Riley Beard of Diagonal; Royce Bernard of Creston; Waverley Brown of Stanton; Paige Busch of Creston; Taylor Buxton of Creston; Brieann Byrd of Diagonal; Nicholas Campagnari of Leesburg, Florida; Hailey Chew of Murray; Patricia Duysen of Council Bluffs; Andrea Echeverria of Osceola; Storm Hoadley of Orient; Angela Kruse of Red Oak; Chandler Lane of Osceola; Juan Lopez of Osceola; Eli Loudon of Creston; Cayla Maitlen of Creston; Dennis Parks of Creston; Brice Phelps of Tingley; Tessa Powers of Creston; Emma Roan of Murray; Catherine Rotich of Creston; Alexis Schmitz of Afton; Danika Schultes of Creston; Rachel Sobotka of Mount Ayr; Micha Stephens of Creston; Kaleb Ver Linden of Red Oak; Jill Wallace of Greenfield; Keann Williamson of Saint Charles; and Kayela Willis of Whitewright, Texas.

Phi Theta Kappa International serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students worldwide. To be eligible for membership, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above. SWCC Phi Theta Kappa advisors are Jody Nedley-Newcomb and Kelly Marcus.


 SWCCptk Officers

Pictured above – Beta Eta Nu 2019-20 officers and chapter sponsors. L to R: Kelly Marcus, SWCC Phi Theta Kappa sponsor; Ella Rutherford; Chase Miner; Royce Bernard; Sadie Green; and Jody Nedley-Newcomb, SWCC Phi Theta Kappa sponsor.