Southwestern Community College (SWCC) hosted the fall 2021 new member virtual induction ceremony for the Beta Eta Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) on Wednesday, Nov. 3, at 5:30 p.m.

New SWCC Phi Theta Kappa inductees for the fall 2021 semester (accepted into PTK from May-October 2021) include Colby Abell of Arispe; Kaci Abildtrup of Creston; Ryli Abildtrup of Creston; Miracle Allen of Houston, Texas; Alivia Bakley of Osceola; Ethan Brumbaugh of Rock Port, Missouri; Jordan Carlson of Emerson; Emma Cooney of Greenfield; Trae Ehlen of Mount Ayr; Halle Evans of Creston; Katelyn Foglesong of Thayer; Katie Greenwell of Lebanon, Missouri; Carlee Hamilton of Van Wert; Jurnee Harvey of Creston; Angela Houge of Osceola; Rose Lonsdale of Greenfield; Layla Lopez of Afton; Payton Luther of Creston; Kendra Mahan of Creston; Kathleen Menjivar of Osceola; Kaitlyn Mitchell of Afton; Alyssa Morris of Bates City, Missouri; Haley Plowman of Creston; Nathaniel Purdy of Lorimor; Peyton Rice of Creston; Clayton Stafford of Creston; Jill Stevenson of Shenandoah; Allison Swietlik of Kellerton; Josie Travis of Creston; Brittany Vandevender of Prescott; Riley Wipperman of Creston; Lilita Woody of Creston; and Blake Wuebker of Shannon City.

The ceremony was led by PTK co-advisors Dr. Dan Platt, English instructor, and Joe Pastorino, business instructor.

Phi Theta Kappa International serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students worldwide. To be eligible for membership, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above. PTK offers invaluable scholarship opportunities at the community college level, as well as when it comes time for transfer from SWCC to the four-year colleges and universities of their choice.